I recently ordered two 16 X 20 canvas prints from Canvas On Demand (www.canvasondemand.com).  Last week, I received the finished products and thought I would give a quick review here on my blog.

Canvas On Demand (“COD”) offers a large variety of options and choices.  The 1.5″ gallery wrap is the most popular, but they also offer .75″ versions.  I opted for the 1.5 version.  They range in size from 8 X10 (which retails for $79 for the 1.5) all the way up to a gigantic 42 X 60 (which retails for $402 for the 1.5), plus panoramics up to 72 X 19.  They also offer other print services such as “photo splits” (triptych), photo panels, and a plethora of gift items such as cards, mousepads, labels, posters, photo books, etc.  They also offer touch up services, color corrections, etc. for an extra price.

Ordering is easy – click, click, upload, click, etc.  Be sure to read their sizing suggestions so your final print is cropped and wrapped correctly.  (Honestly, I had a little trouble with this step but it turned out ok.)

I uploaded my images and completed my order on March 12.  I received e-mail notification that my order had been received, and one alerting me to its shipment, together with a tracking number which was handy.  My first canvas arrived on March 20, only 8 days after I placed my order.  My second canvas arrived on March 22, 10 days after I placed my order.  I was very satisfied with the speed of the service and the fact they kept in touch as to the status of my order.

Here is a shot of the first canvas I received (a black & white image).  In my opinion, the whites are sharp and the blacks crisp, creating the right contrast needed for a black & white image.

canvas 6

Here is a close-up of the canvas.

canvas 7

This is the second image I ordered, a color image with subdued colors due to the fog in the scene.

canvas 1

And a closer look (sorry for the light glare on the left side).

canvas 2

It’s a little hard to tell from the image, but it really looks like a painting rather than a photograph.  I would suspect the canvas texture is what has caused this effect.  I really, really like it.  The canvas has a nice texture and a slight shine to it.  Honestly, it’s hard to judge the color quality based on this print due to the lack of color!  The reds and oranges seem rich enough.

The frames seem well constructed.  The edges of the print are trimmed nicely, and no staples are sticking out of the frame.

canvas 3

canvas 4

There is even a sawtooth hanger already included, which I like so I don’t have to mess with putting one on myself.

canvas 5

Overall, I’m more than satisfied with my purchase from COD and have already ordered a couple more.   The only negative comment I have is how the canvases were packed for shipping.  They both came in a cardboard carton slightly larger than the canvas itself, wrapped inside a thin cushioney soft wrap (which was fine) but the edges and corners were not stabilized within the box.  Had any rough handling taken place during shipment, I’m not sure what would have happened.  I ordered a canvas from Mpix a few months ago, and it was packed much more safely (albeit in a much larger container).  I would recommend ordering canvas prints from COD.  I was happy with the customer service and the finished products.  Keep your eyes open for coupons and deals!

I would like to note that I did not receive any compensation or other perks from COD to review this product.  These are just my opinions and impressions that I wanted to share with my photographic community.

 

